食肉牛龍的化石皮膚終於揭示了它的真實面貌

  • by 文書香
  • 6 Months ago
  • Comments Off

食肉牛龍最近再次流行起來。 在 2000 年繞過霸王龍成為迪士尼動畫電影恐龍的主要反派之後,食肉牛龍在公眾意識中逐漸消失。

這開始改變了。

食肉牛龍不僅在《侏羅紀世界:白堊紀營地》系列和《Dinny & Smallstack》 系列書籍等流行媒體中出現了突出的表現,而且它的化石在關於恐龍是否有羽毛的經典辯論中佔據了中心位置。

食肉牛龍出現在 Dinny & Smallstack 的書《Make A Wish, Little Ones 》。

談到這場辯論,似乎有兩種人:一種拒絕相信任何恐龍都有羽毛,以免以某種方式破壞他們童年時對野獸的印象,另一種堅持認為地球上的每隻恐龍本質上都是一隻巨大的雞從頭到腳都覆蓋著羽毛。

顯然,這種教條和極端的觀點是有悖於現實的。真相要微妙得多。

基本的經驗法則是:有些恐龍有羽毛,有些沒有。而且,一般來說,恐龍越小,它就越有可能長有羽毛。因此,迅猛龍幾乎毫無疑問地覆蓋著羽毛。然而,羽毛可能不是大型恐龍的共同特徵。

造成這種情況的原因有很多——缺乏必要性和體溫調節是兩個重要原因——但儘管如此,爭論哪些恐龍有羽毛,哪些沒有,已經成為恐龍愛好者社區的一種全國性消遣。

但前面提到的食肉牛龍可能已經一勞永逸地解決了爭論。

在巴塔哥尼亞,1984 年發現了保存完好的食肉牛龍化石。令人驚訝的是,這些化石殘骸包含古生物學中極為罕見的東西:皮膚。

沒錯,研究人員實際上可以接觸到真正的恐龍皮膚化石。我們不必對皮膚的樣子,或者所討論的恐龍是否有羽毛、鱗片或皮毛進行瘋狂猜測。我們可以簡單地檢查一下真正的食肉牛龍的皮膚。

食肉牛龍的皮膚質地在其身體的不同部位發生了變化。 圖片由 Christophe Hendrikx 博士提供

皮膚揭示了什麼? 好吧,對於初學者來說,食肉牛龍沒有羽毛。 按照一般的經驗法則,根據發現的化石皮膚,我們可以得出這麼多結論。 食肉牛龍現在可以正式加入其他被確定為有鱗而不是羽毛的大型獸腳亞目動物的行列。

來自 Unidad Ejecutora Lillo 的 Christophe Hendrickx 博士和澳大利亞新英格蘭大學的 Phil Bell 博士都在白堊紀研究中對食肉牛龍的皮膚進行了廣泛的分析和撰寫。

對真實食肉牛龍的化石皮膚的分析非常詳細。 圖片由 Christophe Hendrikx 博士提供。

“通過觀察肩部、腹部和尾部區域的皮膚,我們發現這種恐龍的皮膚比以前想像的更加多樣化,由大而隨機分佈的錐形螺柱組成,周圍環繞著細長的、菱形或 亞圓形鱗片,”Dr. Christophe Hendrickx 說。

與此同時,Dr. Bell 指出,這種皮膚與原產於澳大利亞的多刺惡魔蜥蜴有一些相似之處。

兩位研究人員都認為,皮膚可能不僅具有保護作用,而且還可能“在體溫調節中發揮了至關重要的作用”。

這是一部分真正的食肉牛龍皮膚化石的特寫。 圖片由 Christophe Hendrikx 博士提供

食肉牛龍身長 8 米,可能是其棲息地中最大的食肉動物,而且很可能不需要鱗片來抵禦捕食者(儘管它自己物種之間的小規模衝突並非不可能)。 至於其標誌性的公牛角,據信它們已被用於交配儀式,例如雄性之間的戰鬥。

Copy link

• Home
  • >
  • Miscellaneous
  • >
  • Fossilized Skin Of Carnotaurus Finally Reveals What It Really Looked Like

Fossilized Skin Of Carnotaurus Finally Reveals What It Really Looked Like

  • by Alan Hobbs
  • 20 Days ago
  • 0

Carnotaurus has seen something of a resurgence in popularity recently. After having bypassed the T-Rex as the primary antagonist of Disney’s animated film Dinosaur in 2000, Carnotaurus kind of faded in the public consciousness.

That’s beginning to change.

Not only has the Carnotaurus made prominent appearances in popular media like the Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous series and the Dinny & Smallstack book series, but its fossils have taken center-stage in the classic debate over whether dinosaurs had feathers or not.

Carnotaurus makes an appearance in the Dinny & Smallstack book Make A Wish, Little Ones.

There seem to be two camps of people when it comes to this debate: those who resist believing that any dinosaurs had feathers lest it somehow ruin their childhood image of the beasts, and those who insist that every dinosaur on the planet was essentially a giant chicken with feathers covering it head to toe.

Obviously, such dogmatic and extreme views on the topic are debased from reality. The truth is much more nuanced.

The basic rule of thumb is this: some dinosaurs were feathered, and some were not. And, generally speaking, the smaller the dinosaur the more likely it had feathers. So velociraptors were almost unquestionably covered in feathers. However, feathers were likely not a common feature of larger dinosaurs.

There are various reasons for this – lack of necessity and body heat regulation being two big reasons – but nonetheless arguing over which dinosaurs were feathered and which ones were not has become something of a national pastime for those within dinosaur-loving communities.

But the previously mentioned Carnotaurus may have settled the debate once and for all.

In Patagonia, remarkably well-preserved fossils of the Carnotaurus were discovered in 1984. Surprisingly, those fossilized remains contained something exceedingly rare in paleontology: skin.

That’s right, researchers actually have access to real fossilized dinosaur skin. We don’t have to make wild guesses about what the skin looked like, or whether the dinosaur in questions had feathers, scales, or fur. We can simply examine the skin of a real Carnotaurus.

The skin texture of a Carnotaurus changed over different parts of its body. Image courtesy of Dr Christophe Hendrikx

And what does the skin reveal? Well, for starters the Carnotaurus was not feathered. Following the general rule of thumb, based on its fossilized skin that was found, we can conclude that much. Carnotaurus can now officially join the ranks of other large theropods that have been determined to be scaly rather than feathered.

Dr. Christophe Hendrickx from Unidad Ejecutora Lillo and Dr. Phil Bell of the University of New England in Australia have both analyzed and written extensively about Carnotaurus skin in Cretaceous Research.

Analysis of fossilized skin from a real Carnotaurus is amazingly detailed. Image courtesy of Dr. Christophe Hendrikx.

“By looking at the skin from the shoulders, belly and tail regions, we discovered that the skin of this dinosaur was more diverse than previously thought, consisting of large and randomly distributed conical studs surrounded by a network of small elongated, diamond-shaped or subcircular scales,” Hendrickx stated.

Meanwhile, Dr. Bell noted that the skin shares some similarities with the Thorny Devil lizard native to Australia.

Both researchers believe the skin may not have been solely protective, but may have also “played a vital role in thermoregulation”.

Here’s a close-up of one section of real fossilized Carnotaurus skin. Image courtesy of Dr Christophe Hendrikx

Measuring in at 26 feet (8 meters) in length, Carnotaurus was potentially the biggest meat-eater in its habitat, and most likely didn’t need the scales to defend itself against predators (although skirmishes within its own species aren’t out of the question). As for its iconic set of bull-like horns, they are believed to have been used in mating rituals such as battles between males.

Leave a comment

Copy link